14 Comments
Nov 12, 2021Liked by Dave Bangert

The "Don't Get Drilled" Yoder Heating and Cooling family.

Expand full comment
Nov 13, 2021Liked by Dave Bangert

I had a photoshoot in the Pharmacy building at Purdue, I'm photographing this lady with a crazy familiar voice... and her name was Lola! The Lola, from the Bob Rohrman radio commercials from the 1980's 1990's.

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 13, 2021Liked by Dave Bangert

In the early aughts, there was a CD Land commercial with two guys just sitting there playing guitar. I loved that one. I can still hum the tune.

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 12, 2021Liked by Dave Bangert

My favorites were always the Rohrman ads around the Haunted Mansion between Bob and Randy Brist. They were always having such fun - and they were always a good laugh for a good cause -Jeff HS.

Expand full comment
founding

Mine would be the Gibson Furniture one where the dude hates to shop for furniture. Then he plops himself in this chair and announces to all….”you can buy whatever you want but this is MY chair”

I applaud the owner, Mrs Gibson, for taking on the big franchise furniture stores with her Boswel store.

It makes me feel like I should go buy a lamp or something from her.

Expand full comment
founding

Always loved the car dealer with actual tiger.

Expand full comment

I still call Nate Barrett “Twin City Dodge Boy” even though he’s a grown man and two years younger than me, and running the place now.

Expand full comment

Anisa Jones (aka Buffy and Jody) was born in Lafayette, Indiana. Her maternal grandparents were Lebanese, and Jones' middle name means "Little Friend" in Arabic.

At the time of her birth, Jones' father John Paul Jones was an engineering graduate and faculty board member at Purdue University, where her mother Mary Paula Jones (née Tweel) was a zoology student.

Expand full comment